1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Fixing this mess

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Xodus, Jul 5, 2008.

1. Xodus

Xodus Member

I'm a sports writer graduating in Dec. and I'm tired of reading about layoffs, buy-outs and Jessica DaSilva (who actually works/ed at the same student paper I do. I, in sports and her, in news. I pray people in the business don't think we're all as short-sighted brown-nosers).

There are too many intelligent people working in the newspaper business for them to think that slashing jobs is a way to save this business. And the continuing emphasis on sending everyone over to the website before they, you know, figure out how to make money with their respective websites is insane. How anyone believes that giving away a product for free is a smart business practice is beyond me.

I think changing the way newspapers go about using their online ads is the key. Google makes tons of money in ads everyday and one of the reasons is the ads cater to what a person just searched for. When you go on a newspaper site the ads are completely random and of no interest to me.

Another solution is (obviously) no longer giving the product away for free on the web. What motivation is there to buy or subscribe if you can go online and read the paper for free? Maybe something like a $5 or $10 a month subscription fee for
    reading a story online. It could work kind of like ESPN Insider where you get the first graf or two for free, but you've got to pay for the rest.

I don't know if any of these ideas would work, but it's better than hyperlocal and having no beat writers.