1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

First-person running article

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by DGRollins, Jun 23, 2007.

1. DGRollins

DGRollins Member

I was asked to write a first-person article on my experience at a local 10k race. It’s not something that I have a lot of experience at (running or writing first-person stories). The article has yet to be published. Any suggestions for improvement would be appreciated.

The assignment landed on my desk with a thud. Well, at least it felt that way. Like most things these days, it actually came to me via e-mail, but in my mind there was a dramatic thud. An emotional one anyway.
    I was to enter the Tom Longboat 10k run and write a first-person story about my experience. The run was in two days. Not sure if they had the right person, I wrote a quick reply: “You are trying to kill me, right,” I asked hopefully.
    Sadly, I was the intended recipient of the e-mail.
    So, two days later I found myself sweating profusely through the first minute of what was sure to be a 90 minute—if I was lucky or could flag a cab—ordeal.
    With my throat feeling like I was gargling sawdust, I began to scan the nearby fields for an escape route.
    Suddenly some of the livestock looked promising. Knowing that there was a rodeo coming to the area I thought that I might be able to convince my editor that a first-person account of me riding a bull might make a better story.
    If it bleeds it leads, they always say. Think of the possibilities: “Local sports writer gored by bull” the headline would read. It could work.