1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Fighting white supremacy and all forms of hate-fueled violence

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Mr. X, Sep 15, 2022.

1. Mr. X

Mr. X Active Member

Is there anything as a reporter and editor I should or could do to call out "white supremacy and all forms of hate-fueled violence?"

2. Mr. X

Mr. X Active Member

I should have used "calling out" instead of fighting as the subject.

3. DanOregon

DanOregon Well-Known Member

It's odd. When I think of the US, I don't think you can tell the history of the country WITHOUT white supremacy and hate-fueld violence - often by the government (national, state and local).

OscarMadison likes this.
  4. Mr. X

Mr. X Active Member

How does the amount of white supremacy and hate-fueled violence now compare to the 1970s, 1980s, 1990s, 2000s and 2010s? How does the amount by national, state and local governments compare?

5. FileNotFound

FileNotFound Well-Known Member

I think it actually has been pretty consistent over the decades. I think the thing that makes it seem worse now is that we thought that after the late ‘60s, we had largely advanced as a society and pushed the most virulent racism to the margins. Alas, that has proven to not be the case.

OscarMadison likes this.
  6. DanOregon

DanOregon Well-Known Member

I do think the dynamic has changed. Obviously it's not sanctioned or policy anymore by governments - at least overtly. I also think the genesis of the hate is more fear-based now by a white majority growing slimmer and slimmer and feeling threatened by the loss of hegemony.