1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Feeling afraid to give up/get out

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by 1GreytWriter, Nov 27, 2013.

1. 1GreytWriter

1GreytWriter Member

Hey everyone,

I have mostly lurked here, but something is weighing on my mind about getting away from sports, and I figured this is the one place where people would understand, as I'm afraid it's lost on my friends and family who think I have a great life and should love my job no matter what! (Go figure none of them do what I do or have attempted it.)

I currently work as a web editor, though my dream is to work in media relations with a sports team one day. Unfortunately, I was ignorant as hell in undergrad and didn't realize all the interning and volunteering you needed to do to get a media relations gig. So a few years ago, I got my editing job and did some free writing for another website to build my portfolio. I did once want to work in newspapers, but got away from that late in college when I saw that the industry was going downhill. (I'm a 2008 grad.)