1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Feedback please

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by JLawson, Jul 11, 2007.

1. JLawson

JLawson Member

I'm a sports intern and I did this feature story on only a few hours' notice. Please help with some constructive criticism.

As the Angora Fire ravages South Lake Tahoe, destroying more than 200 buildings and sending thousands of people to flee from their homes, one group of 11- and 12-year-olds are trying to forget about the damage.

The South Lake Tahoe Hooligans are pressing on, playing the game they love -- baseball.

"It's a bit of a distraction being out here playing baseball," said Scott Morgan, manager of South Lake Tahoe. "Get our minds off our family members, our friends who have lost so much. It says a couple of things: We want to play some baseball and we want to represent Tahoe and say 'You can't keep Tahoe down.'"

Morgan felt that everyone on the team was affected by the fire, but perhaps none more than Kris Hurwitz. His house was close to becoming a pile of ash and another victim of the Angora Fire that has already destroyed an estimated 229 homes and burned more than 3,100 acres.

When the fire broke out on Sunday, Hurwitz was enjoying a clear day at his grandparents' home when he and his family started to smell smoke. It wasn't long after that fire trucks drove through his neighborhood announcing that everyone needed to evacuate. Most people tried to grab the possessions that they couldn't live without. The things Hurwitz couldn't live without were: two baseballs, three trophies, a pair of shorts and his baseball uniform.