1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

feedback on an article regarding Miami Hurricanes

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by Gus Anaya, Aug 24, 2011.

1. Gus Anaya

Gus Anaya New Member

How's everyone doing? I'm a college student in South Florida and I wrote an article for my college paper. It's my first article, and I'm just looking for some feedback. Positive or negative, just tell me what you think about it.

-------------

Death to Miami?

As a University of Miami football fan, I personally can’t wait for the day that the Hurricanes are at the peak of college football once again. Unfortunately, it doesn’t seem like that’s going to happen. These past couple of weeks, UM has been plagued by a controversy stirred up by Nevin Shapiro when he admitted to Yahoo! Sports that he had provided benefits to over 72 former and current Miami Hurricanes. The benefits listed include cash, jewelry, prostitutes, entertainment on his multimillion dollar properties, paid trips to high-restaurants and nightclubs from 2002 through 2010 – breaking numerous NCAA rules. Shapiro also stated that he supplied bounties for on-field play that some would even max out to thousands of dollars if they were able to injure opposing players, along with even paying for one former player’s abortion. These allegations come after Shapiro was convicted of playing a part of a $930 million Ponzi scheme, and sentenced to 20 years in prison.