1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Feedback on a deadline boxing story

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by mikecoppinger, Sep 11, 2012.

1. mikecoppinger

mikecoppinger New Member

I wrote this story on deadline for USA Today on the HBO fight on Saturday.

I'm a young writer (26) and feel like I'm improving but know I can always do better.

Would love some blunt criticism. I wrote this on a pretty strict deadline, filed about 30 minutes after the fight.

Thanks in advance for the feedback.

http://www.usatoday.com/sports/boxing/story/2012/09/9/ward-remains-unbeaten-stops-dawson-with-10th-round-tko/57723600/1

Best,

2. ringer

ringer Active Member

Okay, here's a blunt assessment of the opening.

I didn't read the headline -- just the piece -- and it took me thee paragraphs to figure out whether Ward had won.

1st graf you said he gave a "Career-defining performance" (sounds like he won)
    2nd graf you say "It's not that Ward won" (okay, that means he lost)
    Next sentence: "He always finds a way to win" (well, you just said he didn't win)
    3rd graf says he did win - stopping his opponent in the 10th. (what the hell?)
    You could have eliminated all confusion if you'd simply said: Ward gave a scintillating performance en route to at 10th round stoppage to retain his X title and defeat Chad Dawson...