1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Ethically, should I do this?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by enigami, Mar 30, 2008.

1. enigami

enigami Member

The rundown: I'm an NHL beat writer for a big daily. I have a blog on the side through the newspaper's Web site, but virtually no one – and I mean NO ONE – reads it. A pretty big hockey-only Web site recently invited me to be one of its paid bloggers.

Other credentialed NHL reporters have already made the leap from their newspapers/stations elsewhere into the blogosphere, but for me that's not enough of a green light. My gut tells me that, since I already keep a blog (albeit an unpopular one) through the newspaper that is allowing me to be a credentialed reporter in the first place, I shouldn't be taking money to provide exclusive content for someone else's Web site. And if the content isn't exclusive, I shouldn't be taking money for it.

Thoughts?

2. Magnum

Magnum Member

If your newspaper doesn't care, it's not a problem.

You are going to discuss it with your newspaper, aren't you?

3. Stitch

Stitch Active Member

It depends on what the bosses say. You're on their dime when covering a game. So it's not a matter of ethics per se, it's getting permission to freelance on the side.

4. SportsDude

SportsDude Active Member

Doesn't hurt to ask.

5. MU_was_not_so_hard

MU_was_not_so_hard Active Member

As long as your shop is cool, I see no issue with it.
    Full-timers freelance all the time.

6. forever_town

forever_town Well-Known Member