1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

ESPN giving NFL about $2 billion a year...

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by TigerVols, Jan 6, 2011.

1. TigerVols

TigerVols Well-Known Member

...http://fifthdown.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/01/06/espn-close-to-extending-media-rights-with-n-f-l/

So much for the need for a lockout?

Maybe some of the experts on the board can tell me this: Why can't the NFL go public and offer stock?

2. Baron Scicluna

Baron Scicluna Well-Known Member

I'm no expert, but I think the league just doesn't allow it, outside of the Packers, who are a publicly-owned team. But people who buy Packers stock have to sell it back to the team, and can't make a profit.

3. Webster

Webster Well-Known Member

I assume that the league doesn't allow individual teams to do so. Also, the teams are not jointly owned, so by saying the NFL going public, it's not like the teams will combine for that purpose.

As to the league itself as an entity, there's no need. The reason why you go public is to cash out by selling a piece of your ownership and the league is a cash cow. Also, going public opens you up to all sorts of regulatory and disclosure requirements.

4. LongTimeListener

LongTimeListener Well-Known Member

Why in the Sam Hill would they do that? The reason you go public is to raise more money to build your business. That's the last thing the NFL needs. And if they do go public, all of their information -- such as, oh, I don't know, how much money they're really making -- is on display for all to see. No more crying poor in negotiations.