1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Electronic clips for job applications

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by goldy220, Mar 2, 2008.

1. goldy220

goldy220 New Member

Hi guys, this is my first post here, but I've been browsing around here for a few months now.

I'm a college Senior and am getting ready to get my first non-intern newspaper job. I've prepared my resume and I've finally caught up with my clips. I was taught to put them on 11x17 then reduce it to 8.5x11. Recently, I've noticed a lot of jobs online request to send the resume and writing samples through email.

What's the best way to do this? I don't work at the paper anymore, so copy pasting the text from the archives isn't really feasible. I was just going to scan the 8.5x11's into PDF files...does that seem alright?

Thanks

2. MU_was_not_so_hard

MU_was_not_so_hard Active Member

I know I've said this numerous times on here, but I'll repeat again since it's always worked for me.
    Since about my junior year of college, the only way I've submitted clips is this:
    Cut the story into a standard word file. Make sure any text -- from headline to subhead to byline to story -- is included (I generally make the headline a few point sizes larger.
    No, it does not show the placement of the story on its original page, but it is essentially impossible for any person you're emailing clips to to have compatibility problems.
    It also makes it easier when you're including any possible notes on the story in question.

3. Stitch

Stitch Active Member

So do you use a separate file for each clip?