1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Editors: What organizer do you use? Electronic? Old-fashioned? Nothing? A mix?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Johnny Dangerously, Sep 15, 2010.

1. Johnny Dangerously

Johnny Dangerously Well-Known Member

A long time ago, I became a fan of DayRunner. As I became a bit more wired and wireless, I no longer used mine. At one point, I had more electronic organizers than I could maintain. Simplicity seduced me and won me over.

Now, as an editor, I think I need to look at the array of organizational tools out there. What do you use for planning sections in advance, work schedules, vacation time, meetings, and so forth? An actual paper version? Something on your computer? On your smart phone? A combination?

I'd be interested to hear what works for people, especially with specifics. I studied the Calendar options in my BlackBerry and came away unimpressed. I use the Memo function much more often, but I'm not sure that suits my new gig.

I know this isn't purely a journalism topic, but I thought it belonged here. Moderators, feel free to move it if you must.

Thanks,

JD

2. Bubbler

Bubbler Well-Known Member

I still use paper for most of it. A simple yearly planner works just fine for me.

3. Mark2010

Mark2010 Active Member

A wall calendar works well for me. List the MAJOR events for the teams we cover. Also have an electronic daily schedule that lists ALL the events. Great to make sure we don't overlook anything. (OH, darn, I forgot to enter the local home school volleyball team's matches against the public school freshman team.)

4. Gomer