1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

E:60

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Sxysprtswrtr, Oct 16, 2007.

1. Sxysprtswrtr

Sxysprtswrtr Active Member

Anyone catch ESPN's new "newsmagazine" show tonight? [I haven't seen any threads on this.]

Just watched it. Pretty interesting. As a journalist, I liked the cuts of the group discussing the dynamics of each story.

Topics: Cecil Fielder-son saga, the high school football rape case in Florida, Jason Ray UNC mascot, and the Bill Simmons EA Sports segment.

2. Precious Roy

Precious Roy Active Member

I didn't watch it, and I don't think I ever will. I just don't think a group of writers talking about why a story is awesome is riveting....

But then again, I HATE BUDGET MEETINGS.
    Sorry, that's what it looks like to me, if I am wrong, please quickly correct me.

3. pallister

pallister Guest

I was watching a preview of the debut today at the gym on whatever show used to be Cold Pizza, but couldn't hear anything. Did Cecil give a reason why he and Prince no longer speak?

4. Sxysprtswrtr

Sxysprtswrtr Active Member

It wasn't particularly riveting. I think the average joe isn't going to care about the hacks discussing the story, but as a journalist, I thought it was a different perspective to see on TV. On one hand, leave it to ESPN to allow journalists to become "part" of the story.