1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Dumb credentials question

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Rosie, Dec 3, 2007.

1. Rosie

Rosie Active Member

Ok, I'm going to need some advice, guidance, suggestions.

I'm now a freelancer, I guess. I'm not officially 'at' a paper now, but I do still have a local paper running my column, with an outside chance of another paper or two picking up my column.

Here's my question. How many hoops does a person have to jump through to get credentials when you aren't officially affiliated with a paper? There's an NCAA tourney coming up that I want to attend and write about, and I know last time I obtained NCAA credentials, it was 'please submit your request on company letterhead along with your title.' Which was fine then, I was the sports editor at the paper I was at.

Now? I don't have company letterhead, let alone a title.

This is new territory for me, so any constructive ideas are welcome.

2. lono

lono Active Member

Rosie:

Write your letter, e-mail it to your sports editor and ask him/her to print it out on company letterhead for you,

Barring that, send the letter yourself and include the editor's name/e-mail/phone number for verification that you indeed do string for the paper and will be covering the tourney.

3. Italian_Stallion

Italian_Stallion Active Member

Your situation is slightly different in that you're doing a column. But my experience is that it's best to have someone from the paper set up the credentials. They can verify that you are, in fact, covering the event for that paper.