1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Doing TV

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by Giggity, Feb 20, 2013.

1. Giggity

Giggity Member

I just agreed to do a TV gig in the near future. I'm a print journalist who's never so much as done radio, and this will be a live half-hour studio show with an incredibly large viewership. Just me, the host and one other guy.
    So, any practical advice? Obviously I'm going to do some exhaustive research, but what beyond that? I hate public speaking in general, so this is a huge mental challenge for me (which is why I agreed to do it, honestly).

2. Mizzougrad96

Mizzougrad96 Active Member

Sit up straight and look at the camera. If they have a makeup person there who wants to put anything on you, let them, especially if you sweat a lot or are bald or balding.

Get there early, especially if they have to put a mic on you. It can be a little daunting when you're rushed in and you have to put one on, especially if you've never done it before. The first time I had to deal with that, it really threw me off.

Ask them to tell you if you're doing anything wrong. A lot of times they won't do this because they don't want to piss you off, but it's in your best interest to listen to them since they're the ones who do this regularly.

Good luck!

3. Gutter

Gutter Well-Known Member