1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Does anyone know anything about blueberries and eyesight?

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by old_tony, May 30, 2009.

1. old_tony

old_tony Well-Known Member

OK, the reason I ask this is because at 48, I've been using reading glasses for about 4 1/2 years. In the last four months, I've found myself to really like blueberries as a healthy snack.

As of yesterday, I've been able to read again without the reading glasses -- something that just was not possible in the past four years.

I'm not saying it's perfect, but I am able to read again without having to reach for the glasses before I even bother trying.

I've heard carrots are good for the eyes (but I don't really eat them regularly at all) but never anything about blueberries, and as far as I can tell, that's really the only thing I can think of that has been significantly different in my diet the last few months.

2. KevinmH9

KevinmH9 Active Member

http://www.organicfacts.net/health-benefits/fruit/health-benefits-of-blueberries.html

3. BYH

BYH Active Member

Come back to us when you figure out what to eat that allows us to run as fast and shoot a basketball as well as we did at 17, Tony. :D

4. old_tony

old_tony Well-Known Member

Thanks, Kevin. That confirms my guess.

BYH, if I find that food, I'm keeping the secret to myself and marketing it. Then I won't have to worry about the impending death of our business. :( Of course, then I'll be so rich that I'll open a home for former journalists.

For now, all I know tonight is it's nice to be here and not have to be wearing reading glasses.

5. BRoth