1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Does anyone at jjobs.com ever check the ads before they're posted?

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by wickedwritah, Feb 12, 2007.

  1. wickedwritah

    wickedwritah Guest

    You've won the Zimbabwean Lottery!

  2. Starman

    Starman Well-Known Member

    Oh shut up. My Nigerian Princess housemaid is polishing my shoes. We leave tomorrow on our pleasure cruise in the Caribbean to celebrate her 19th birthday. I gave her my charge card to order the tickets myself. ::) ::)
  3. wickedwritah

    wickedwritah Guest

    Hi, boots!
  4. Big Buckin' agate_monkey

    Big Buckin' agate_monkey Active Member

    The only thing they don't ask for in that ad is a social security number.
  5. alleyallen

    alleyallen Guest

    That's the first thing they'll ask for when the person contacts them, though.
  6. novelist_wannabe

    novelist_wannabe Well-Known Member

    Sharing a personal experience there, alley?
  7. EStreetJoe

    EStreetJoe Well-Known Member

    Alley's probably speaking from logic. After all they need your social security number so they can take taxes out of your "paycheck"
  8. alleyallen

    alleyallen Guest

    And your banking information so they can set up "direct deposit" of said "paycheck."
  9. Big Buckin' agate_monkey

    Big Buckin' agate_monkey Active Member

    So it's still considered direct deposit if they directly deposit funds from your account?
  10. micropolitan guy

    micropolitan guy Well-Known Member

    Whatever it was, it's been pulled from the site.
  11. JayFarrar

    JayFarrar Well-Known Member

    Same thing happened to Poynter's job site a couple of days ago.
    I was checking out Romenesko and it had a window for the top three jobs and one was a Nigerian scam. (APSE's has been there as well)
    I don't know how long it was up, but I found it amusing.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page