1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Do you root for your alma mater?

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by BertoltBrecht, Sep 14, 2007.

1. BertoltBrecht

BertoltBrecht Member

After watching the end of an upset win for the school I graduated from Saturday, I couldn't help feeling absolutely nothing for the team's accomplishment. Total indifference. If anything, I may have been slightly hoping they'd lose.

2. Tom Petty

Tom Petty Guest

no. i could give two shits.

3. Oggiedoggie

Oggiedoggie Well-Known Member

Which one?

I could only root for the University of Kansas during basketball season. Football is futile. (They do have the lowest paid football coach, pound-for-pound in the Big 12.)

And my dear Ohio Bobcats? That school places way too much emphasis on academics and partying to have anything left over for sports.

4. PhilaYank36

PhilaYank36 Guest

There's a rumor going around that La Salle University has a football team, but whenever I went to a game, I just saw blue & gold tackling dummies. At least they ditched the Notre Dame-styled jerseys & helmets. I used to root hard for the basketball team, but all the players I went to school with have finally all graduated, so I don't know anyone there. If they win, yay. If they don't, no big whoop. The only squad that I closely follow is the baseball team now.

5. Claws for Concern

Claws for Concern Active Member

Cal State Fullerton dropped football 15 years ago so that's out. Basketball's OK, but baseball season is really the only time to keep track of what's going on there.

6. Barsuk

Barsuk Active Member

Yes. M-I-Z...

7. Cansportschick