1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

do you have a will?

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by leo1, May 28, 2007.

1. leo1

leo1 Active Member

i know most sportswriters (or, like me impoverished law school grads staring at a mountain of debt) don't have a lot of assets, but do you have a will? if you have one, at what point in your life did you make one (when you got married, when you had a kid, when you saw a friend die without one?)

it sucks to think about your death and what will happen to those you leave behind, but i'm studying wills today (for the bar exam) and thinking that if nothing else, learning about all that can happen if you don't plan for your future has convinced me to make a will so we have one once our future kid is born in the fall.

it also seems like it would be smart to talk to some relatives about who would raise the kid if my wife and i died and the kid lived.

2. Platyrhynchos

Platyrhynchos Active Member

No. I have no family to speak of (two brothers).
    I know I should have one, but I don't.

3. SoSueMe

SoSueMe Active Member

Death doesn't scare me. I think about it all the time. I'm actually counting down to when I think I will die. No lie. I'm more scared of the potential act(s) leading up to death (i.e. burning, drowning, not being able to be rescued from some horrible accident). But the thought of me actually being dead doesn't concern me nor does the thought of "how long do I have to live?" (I figure 31 years left). I just want it to be quick.

Anyway, I don't have a will. I should get one. I don't have life insurance either, which I should get.