1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Cutouts

Discussion in 'Design Discussion' started by Angola!, Oct 22, 2008.

1. Angola!

Angola! Guest

I e-mailed one person about this, but since he might not have time, I'll post it to the masses.

Can anyone direct me to a step-by-step breakdown on how to do cutouts in Photoshop?

I'm a full-time designer/copy editor now and my paper never does cutouts, except as teases. The reason for this is because the people who tone the photos and print the pages are the ones who do cutouts and generally, they suck.

I did some cutouts in my younger days, but it's been 4 or 5 years ago and I don't have much recollection.

Anywhoo, I'd like to do some practice runs so we can add cutouts to our main packages in the future.

Oh, and I have also learned the value of HELMETS! I don't understand how someone could hate them, when they add a much needed art element to a tight space now and again.

2. Dickens Cider

Dickens Cider New Member

Check your PMs, Gola.

3. bigpern23

bigpern23 Well-Known Member

Dickens, not sure what you PM'd to 'Gola, but if it's some kind of instruction on how to do cutouts, it might be useful to the board if you post it here instead of in PMs.

If it was about plans to go see High School Musical 3 together, then I apologize. :D

4. Gomer

Gomer Active Member

http://www.sportsjournalists.com/forum/threads/34989/

http://www.sportsjournalists.com/forum/threads/47360/

It's been discussed on this board a couple times over the years. My way to do it is on the first link, but everybody has their own method. Find one that works for you and perfect it.