1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by egm, Jan 18, 2013.

1. egm

egm New Member

Hey everyone,

I was hoping for some educational/career advice.

I've been out of journalism for several months now. Just recently I graduated from a state school in California with a degree in history and a minor in journalism. I've completed several internships in print/online and radio. My last internship ended in September and haven't been able to get hired.

So I began thinking of attending a journalism school in New York (CUNY) or in California (Berkeley) in hopes of modernizing my skills as a journalist but also perhaps to make me much more marketable to employers in the future. I recently applied.

There is a lot of technical stuff I need to improve on that my undergraduate school did not teach. Basically, I would like to find out whether J-school is worth the risk. I hear CUNY is really good and a bargain for out of state students. Plus, doing journalism in NYC would look nice on my resume.

Or should I hold off on grad school just to make sure where my career is headed.

Thoughts?

2. Double Down

Double Down Well-Known Member

1.How much does it cost?

2. Who is paying?

3. Does it have a history of placing students in graduate internships or jobs? Are there professors with real world practical experience and contacts who can help get you clips and resume in front of people who you'd actually wish to work for even if they had an opening?