1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Critique Appreciated

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by OklahomaSports, Aug 25, 2011.

1. OklahomaSports

OklahomaSports New Member

I would like to preface this by saying that I am not a professional journalist. I am a highschool student that is working on honing my craft. I have very few places (none as of now) to publish my work and I thought that I could get a legitimate and helpful critique on my writing here. I'm not going to be offended by anything you say, so have at it. I'm just trying to get better. I just sat down to do some writing and this is what came out on the page. It's about 500 words. I'm not really interested in getting into a discussion here about the subject matter, but more so on the writing technique itself. Much appreciated.
    Thanks-
    OKSports

The Absence of Brett Favre: Who’s next?

The absence of the old gunslinger has been overshadowed by the free agent frenzy that was this off season, but still notable. His presence is missed despite the fact that most fans (supposedly) wanted him out of the game three years ago. With football returning, something just doesn’t feel right. This is the first time in nearly two decades that Favre won’t start the season behind center for somebody.