1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Crash Course in Copy Editing

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by rolling, May 19, 2007.

1. rolling

rolling Member

My internship this summer is requiring me to work on the desk. The paper is short a copy editor, and I have no problem jumping in and helping where I can. Problem is, I have no experience copy editing. None. I'm fairly familiar with the AP Stylebook, and I feel confident I can structure sentences and catch spelling errors. I'm excited to learn these new ropes, though I'm sure I'll take my share of bumps. I think it will make me a better writer, and, if nothing else, I think it will boost my resume.

Frankly, though, I'm not sure what I'm in for.

I start in two weeks and could use any advice, tips and/or knowledge any of you would like to share to prepare me for what's to come.

Thanks in advance.

2. Bullwinkle

Bullwinkle Member

You're hired!

3. Bullwinkle

Bullwinkle Member

Some things that might be helpful:

1. Study the AP style book inside and out. Take one hour out for each letter, and try to learn everything you can. Take notes, try to quiz yourself and work on memorizing certain things you'll have to use often. Set an alarm clock and really hold yourself to working for an hour and trying to get everything you can out of it. And hey, there's a neat surprise ending ... XYZ are all lumped together.

2. Take AP style quizzes online, just to see how you are progressing. A simple Google search will pull up AP quiz sites.