1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Covering recruiting

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by TheMethod, Jan 21, 2008.

1. TheMethod

TheMethod Member

I'm a newspaper beat writer covering, essentially, two programs (football and men's basketball) in a really high-interest market. Currently, I cover recruiting the way I cover, like, track & field -- I only run the really noteworthy stuff. I run commitments, non-commitments of the high-profile guys and I track the local kids. I feel newspapers should cover recruiting better, but I, for one, don't have time to compete with Rivals.com.

So how much time should we devote to recruiting and does anybody have any good ideas for covering it?

2. pressmurphy

pressmurphy Member

Unless you have a tight relationship with the recruiting coordinator, there are better uses of your time than doing anything more than cursory coverage of the local school. There are too many potential recruits out there for you to be tracking by yourself. You need the RC to give you a heads-up when stuff is happening. Of course, that requires that he trusts you to not burn him.

I was covering a football team from 75 miles away in my writing days and still managed to beat the in-market dailies because the RC helped steer me in the right direction on the condition of never, ever identifying him and always calling the recruits or their H.S. coaches with the excuse that I was just checking in on their status.

3. melock

melock Active Member