1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Covering pro teams helping in the community

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by smsu_scribe, Nov 8, 2008.

1. smsu_scribe

smsu_scribe Guest

I'm a freshman reporter for the college paper at my university in southern Minnesota. This Tuesday, the Minnesota Vikings are coming to town to speak at the middle school about staying physically active. There won't be any superstars there, no Adrian Peterson, but several defensive starters and owner Mark Wilf, as well. My experience is limited to gamers and profiles thus far. I'm going to get a chance to talk with these players after the event, and am trying to formulate some questions around the topic of why feel it is important to be active in their communities and give back. I'm just having a bit of trouble getting past just generic questions that are likely to receive robotic answers.

Anyone here ever covered an event like this? What sort of angles did you go for and what kind of interview questions are most effective in this scenario?

2. fossywriter8

fossywriter8 Well-Known Member

Start by asking if any of them were community volunteers while growing up or benefitted from community volunteers or organizations (Boys and Girls Club, YMCA, Red Cross, etc.). Maybe one of them put some life saving skills he learned as a youngster.
    I know the local Catholic high school here requires its students to do so many hours of community service per year, so maybe some of Vikings did the same thing when they were younger.

3. Moderator1

Moderator1 Moderator Staff Member