1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

content and copyright

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by King_Cecil, Jan 18, 2007.

1. King_Cecil

King_Cecil Member

so I went to the local kinkos today to make some copies of my freshest clips and I had to ask one of the customer service people a question. After she answered my question, she noticed the articles in my hand and said "but you can't copy those, that's copyright infringement." Huh? I told her I was the author of the articles so it was my copy and she said it didn't matter that I needed written consent from the publisher.

Now, I studied some communications law while I was in school, but we barely touched upon copyright laws. I'm not saying it's not a law or anything, but seriously this seems a little ridiculous, doesn't it? I've gone to same place many times before and copied articles right in front of other customer service people who never said a word.

So what do I do? I have no problem occaisonally asking my publisher for consent to copy an article, but it seems like a ridiculous process and there also times, you know, when maybe I would prefer if I was the only person who knew I was making copies of clips. Does anybody else abide by these rules or do you guys just go make copies when nobody's gonna bug you about it? What do I do?

2. buckweaver

buckweaver Active Member

I had this happen once at a Kinko's. Infuriated the hell out of me. I brought in my business card and showed them proof of employment. That wasn't enough to satisfy the first clerk, but I sweet-talked the second one into letting me have the copies made.