1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Coming to America. Maybe.

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by TheDelaney, Oct 22, 2008.

1. TheDelaney

TheDelaney New Member

Hello there.
    I'm looking for some advice. I'm a 27-year-old Irish journalist. Undergoing a major life change at the moment in that my serious five-year relationship looks doomed. If it proves to be, I think I'd love to take a year out and live in a foreign country.
    I've enjoyed a few holidays to the States, and have a high regard for a lot of American journalism. I'd qualify for a year's working holiday visa.
    My question is, what chances would I have of doing some newspaper work in that year? I'm guessing, in the current climate, very little. I'm experienced in news and sports journalism, and at the moment, do a lot of sub-editing. But I'm not sure my experience would be relevant to American newspapers - the sports I have experience covering are very different from American sports, and in terms of subbing, there are obviously huge style and spelling differences.
    Anyway, I suppose I'm asking two questions.
    Are there many avenues I could explore for doing some interesting, narrative-style journalism or picking up subbing work? I wouldn't be too concerned about pay, as making money wouldn't really be the purpose of such a year.