1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Column writing 101

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by WaylonJennings, Aug 14, 2007.

1. I'm new to the craft, and wondering if we could talk about it a little bit? Obviously, I know that we've had this conversation before, so sorry for treading over new ground.

Some questions:
    1. Who's good to check in on consistently and learn from? I like Rick Morrissey, Joe Posnanski, Canzano and Bob Kravitz, to name a few.
    2. What makes a good column? One thing I'm noticing - the best reads seem to be when guys get right into what they're getting at, then support it, rather than drawing things out.

Any thoughts appreciated.

2. Before you read the current greats -- and all those are the best in the biz -- take a look at Jim Murray, Red Smith and Mike Royko. All the greats you listed pretty much learned from those guys.

At it's heart a column must do one of three things -- make you laugh, make you cry, make you angry -- and if it fails to do so, it's worthless. The last thing you want to do in a column is just inform. People know already. When I was editor of my college daily, I'd have kids turn in columns every week that were just their opinion on a subject. Not good enough.

IF a column incites or elicits or entertains, it makes the reader keep reading. One of hte best columns I wrote was about Pat Tillman, and about me crying in a room at a huge party after I saw it on the news. People came up to me and told me I'd made them cry, and that it really resonated with them.