1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

College Student looking for tips and opinions

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by djsquid06, Jul 18, 2008.

1. djsquid06

djsquid06 New Member

Hey everyone, as an inspiring sports journalist, I am looking for any and all tips on how to improve my writing. I'm going to post a feature I recently wrote for my internship. I hope you all can critique and advise me how I can make my writing a little better.

I know my writing is missing that flash and originality that separates the good writers from the great, but I'm hoping to attain it within the next two years in school.

POPOLIZIO PUTS AREA ON WRESTLING MAP

It's hard to consider the Capital Region a wrestling hotbed when no collegiate wrestling programs exist within 65 miles.
    No programs? No problem. Frank Popolizio will get them to visit, and just maybe, a few young wrestlers will be inspired by what they see.

Popolizio's efforts have attracted some of the best collegiate wrestling programs in the country to the Capital Region. In addition to founding the Northeast Collegiate Duals, now considered one of the top early-season meets in the country, Popolizio made arrangements for 34-time NCAA champion Oklahoma State to hold its summer training camp at SUNY Cobleskill, where the Cowboys are wrapping up today.

So just how did a 37-year-old insurance salesman become the Don King of amateur wrestling in the Capital Region?

It's simple, really. He loves the sport and will do whatever he can to spread its gospel.