1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Choosing an airline

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by Beef03, May 3, 2013.

1. Beef03

Beef03 Active Member

I'm looking at possibly flying to Arizona for a short vacation in December. Being a Canuck I've only ever flown Air Canada and West Jet, I have no conscious experience with any U.S. airlines -- I think we flew TWA or something when I was knee high to a grasshopper and flying to Fla. Is there a consensus airline that I should avoid at all costs? Right now Delta is cheapest by almost $100, would I be miserable if I choose them?

2. imjustagirl

imjustagirl Active Member

I avoid United and US Air when at all possible. I'm stuck with Delta, living in Atlanta, but it's not terrible. If I remember correctly, you're tall? If so, good luck in coach. I don't know how the space is in Canadian planes, but there's not a lot of leg room on US planes.

3. Giggity

Giggity Member

I assume you're familiar with kayak.com, to compare prices?

I fly quite a bit, and the only airline that I would avoid at all costs is Spirit Airlines. I'm not even sure that they fly to Canada, but for anybody else reading this thread: AVOID SPIRIT AIRLINES AT ALL COSTS.

They rope-you in with super-cheap fares. Then they charge for all kinds of crazy things, like carry-ons. Worse, they'll completely re-route flights a day or two ahead of time. Your non-stop from Phoenix to Seattle suddenly leaves an hour later and has a layover in San Diego - things of that ilk.

The other airlines have their problems, but Spirit is legitimately a scam.

4. Beef03

Beef03 Active Member