1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

choosing a cheap sound system

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by wheateater, Jun 6, 2008.

1. wheateater

wheateater Member

I'm thinking about getting a receiver and speakers to both simplify my mess of cables as well as boost my audio capabilities. I really don't have room/need for a surround system, I really just want to get a decent pair of bookshelf speakers primarily for music. Does anyone have experience with this and have any suggestions on what brands are good or what to look out for? After browsing for a bit online the options are almost dizzying, and I'm far from an expert. I really don't want to spend more than $400-$450 for the receiver and speakers combined. Thanks.

2. Bad Guy Zero

Bad Guy Zero Active Member

You can get a basic Sony stereo [non-surround sound] receiver [STR-DE197] for around $125.00. Pair that with a solid pair of bookshelf speakers [which you can easily find for under $100.00] and you've got a decent basic system. You can find surround sound receivers for fairly cheap nowadays [around $150.00 and less] since there are a ton of new in the box still around from the pre-HDMI days.

3. MacDaddy

MacDaddy Active Member