1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Challenges of covering summer baseball

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Smallpotatoes, Jul 10, 2019.

1. Smallpotatoes

Smallpotatoes Well-Known Member

While I've been driving for a full-time job, since I was laid off from my sports editor position six months ago, I've been freelancing for a paper I used to work for several years ago.

After covering the end of the high school hockey season and high school baseball and lacrosse in the spring, I'm now covering a Senior Babe Ruth team.

One thing I've noticed, and I guess that's just the way summer ball is, is that getting lineups for the opposing team can sometimes be like pulling teeth. In the first game I covered, the home team didn't even have its lineup ready until the bottom of the first. It batted all 13 guys they had and only first names appeared on the lineup card. I asked around, parents, players, coaches, and nobody seemed to know everyone's last name.

Tonight was more of the same, first names, nicknames, initials, the coaches didn't even know some of the kids' last names and neither did the kids.

I wouldn't mind so much, but I'm supposed to do a box score. We can argue about whether or not this league is worth covering and if it's worth doing box scores, but that's another topic for another day (and don't get me started on the decline of Legion ball). That's what I'm paid to do and I'm going to do what I'm paid to do.

That said, I briefly considered using the last name "Mayhew" for a kid named Brandon and "Pappas" for a kid named Angelo. ;).