1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Cell phones/Cell phone service: I need help

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by FuerteJ, Oct 28, 2007.

1. FuerteJ

FuerteJ Active Member

Aiight folks, I'm a free agent in the cellular world these days and am looking into my options. I figured no better place to go than SJ, where people know everything and aren't afraid to voice their opinions.

Right now I've got Cingular/AT&T. I get like 900 anytime minutes, free nights and weekends, 200 texts per month and cing-to-cing for free at a cost of about $72 after taxes. If I can keep this plan and get a new phone, that's fine. I don't necessarily like AT&T, but I like the plan. I just don't know where to go to find a new phone that would jive with my plan.

If I go for a new plan/company, I'm not sure which way i'd like to go. I wouldn't mind some sort of PDA or Blackberry, but i don't care to spend more than $85 or so (give or take a few bucks). I don't even know if that is feasible. (EDIT:) Or even possible. I don't necessarily have to have the whole internet thing.

Are there any regular plans/phones people like?

Anyone got any suggestions? A particular phone they like? A particular company they like?

2. Eagleboy

Eagleboy Guest

I did a decent amount of research into PDA/Blackberry stuff and ended up with a Treo several months back. It runs me about $120 a month on Verizon with 450 minutes, unlimited in-network text messages and 500 outside the network for $5 a month and unlimited Internet, which comes at $45 a month.