1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Career advice, please.

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by wittyc, Jun 13, 2006.

1. wittyc

wittyc New Member

I actually stumbled across this board tonight while searching for jobs online -- easily the best wrong turn I've ever taken! :D

I'm sorry if this topic has been overcooked, but I didn't see any threads that exactly fit my current situation. To the point, I'm a college grad (in July) with four years of part-time experience at a 40k daily/50k weekend circulation paper in the Midwest. Over the past month or so I've started my application process, but I'm not entirely sure what kind of jobs I should target. Would I be better off aiming for a part-time position at a large publication or a full-time position at a smaller publication? Rapid advancement is obviously among my goals, but living in a big city would be a huge bonus.

Also, my degree is in economics. Could this cause prospective employers to pass me over, or will four-years' experience and 500+ articles be enough to entice them?

Finally, I've never had the privilege(?) of doing layout, but I realize it would behoove me to learn this process. Is there literature I could digest to at least get me started, or is it simply a learning-by-doing exercise that I should concentrate on during my last month of employment at my current newspaper?

Any advice that the collective minds here could lend me would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

2. PEteacher

PEteacher Member