1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Can experience make up for a degree?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by COPrimeaux, Jul 19, 2010.

1. COPrimeaux

COPrimeaux New Member

So, here is my dilemma.

I am a 24 year-old former student at Houston Baptist University, where I was a double major in Mass Communication and Christianity. I have completed the mass comm program and am missing only three Christianity courses in order to earn my degree.

My problem is that I am financially tapped out. Loans, grants, scholarships, whatever. There's no more money in the till. So I had to drop out.

Yes, I could go get any minimum wage job and save up and go back, but I have spent six years and $100,000 learning how to do something and becoming quite good at it. To do anything else will make me feel like it was all a waste of time.

To give you an idea of what my resume holds, I was an editor for an award-winning student publication, and I have won awards for news stories, editorials and my sports column. I also have completed internships with Houston's leading sports radio station, and with the Houston Aeros. I am now doing stringer work for the AP, covering the Astros. For someone just starting out, I feel like I have earned a bit of experience.

But I don't have my degree. I don't have my degree because I am missing three Christianity courses. I have obtained all the knowledge that I was supposed to obtain in the major for the career I want.

So my question is, realistically, can I hope to move forward in my career without this piece of paper?