1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Cameras

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by KevinmH9, Nov 22, 2007.

1. KevinmH9

KevinmH9 Active Member

Hello everyone! Brand new to the forum, actually my first posting too. Any who, I'm an inspiring college student looking to get into sports journalism out of school. Currently I work as the Assistant Sports Editor for my college paper and have served as writer, Sports Editor and Assistant Features editor in the 2 1/2 years I've been working there. I've found using the tiny little cannon camera that I have provided to me by the newspaper more of a nusance than a help - the quality of the pictures don't provide much gratification either.

What would you all suggest as a decent, yet inexpensive camera (lens too possibly) where I can expect to get some crisp and quality shots from the field? Thanks!

-Kevin

2. I'm definitely inspired.

Anywho, try this as a starting point:

[​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 15, 2014
  3. KevinmH9

KevinmH9 Active Member

Awesome looking camera! I figure with a decent lens that'd get some excellent shots. Would you happen to know what exact camera it is? I'd like to check online and see the price ranges. Thanks!

4. Canon 400D. There's higher, more expensive models but I hear this is a solid little camera in the $500-$700 range, I believe.

The photographers on here should have more reliable advice.

5. Songbird

Songbird Well-Known Member

Nikon D-100.

6. HoopsMcCann

HoopsMcCann Active Member

law school

7. pseudo

pseudo Well-Known Member