1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Breaking In?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Mayfly, Feb 20, 2007.

1. Mayfly

Mayfly Active Member

I am a recent college graduate and am really curious about how to break into the field. I majored in English with a concentration in journalism. I have sent out resumes and have not had many responses. Are there any tips or helpful insights you all could share with me? Thanks.

2. Rusty Shackleford

Rusty Shackleford Active Member

If you don't have them, you need clips. I would suggest contacting some nearby papers, probably smaller ones, offering to string some stories. You can maybe build up some contacts that way, too.

You probably need to start small.

3. HejiraHenry

HejiraHenry Well-Known Member

For those of you in Mayfly's situation, the correct answer is:

You should have broken in before graduation.

I suspect a lot of us on the board were working for somebody while still in school. That kind of experience, when feasible, gives you a huge advantage over the field, which waits for graduation to think about jobs. Everybody, just about, can find a place for an eager college kid.

A recent college graduate ought to have spent the last 18 months of college networking the hell out of every contact. Who do you know? Who do they know? Rinse, repeat.

A couple of newspaper editors who were friendly with my department chairman were gracious enough to conduct "practice interviews" with me in the fall of my senior year. That helped me sharpen my message and get my clips, etc., in order.