1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Book contract help

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Seabasket2, Apr 11, 2012.

1. Seabasket2

Seabasket2 New Member

Hi guys,

Been a while since I've been on the board. Used to post as "Seabasket" but couldn't remember my password, hence the new name.

Was wondering if someone could offer some advice. I have been working with a major publisher for a couple months on a project where I would be writing the autobiography of a MAJOR sports figure (credit would be "SUPERSTAR X with seabasket2" or something of the like). This book will guaranteed be a best seller on this person's star power alone. The publisher is sure of that. I wish I could say more but I can't.

At first I doubted it would happen because this person has been approached about doing a book many, many times and has always declined. But things have progressed and it looks like it may happen. Here's the tricky part: I have no agent and we are getting to the point where we are talking about money.

I have no idea what I should earn for this. This person may well get a 7-figure advance, but what should I get? And do I ask for royalties as well or just take a straight fee?

Hopefully someone here has done one of these types of books and can give me a general idea so I don't lowball myself. I guess I can get an agent pretty easily on this but I almost feel like he will not have earned this commission since I'd be handing it to him on a silver platter. Any and all help is appreciated.

2. Moderator1

Moderator1 Moderator Staff Member

pm swenk - she is a book agent and a very good one