1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Being a grown-up sucks

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by RedHotChiliPrepper, Jun 11, 2009.

1. I'm 26, and I'm just learning this now. This has been potentially the worst six months of my adult life and it's finally starting to wear on me. I'm usually a pretty happy-go-lucky kind of guy that just kind of lets things roll off my back. Safe to say I've hit a wall. Every time it seems like something good is happening, something shitty happens in return. Everyone keeps telling me I'm in for some good luck sooner or later, but who the hell knows.

I'll start from the beginning:

—My grandmother passed away in December after a battle with lung cancer. Knew it was coming, but little things since then have made me miss her more and more.
    —Two weeks after Grammy passed away, my car broke for the first time costing me almost $400 to fix
    —Three weeks after getting my car back in December, something else broke on my car, again costing me close to $400
    —Had my car back for about a month and had to get it inspected, including a couple new tires, costing me in total about $250
    —Because of all the money I spent on my car, fell behind on the gas bill. Got a shutoff notice, but made an arrangement with the gas company to avoid a shutoff in the middle of February