1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Basketball stat question

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Fourth and 8, Jan 19, 2008.

  1. Fourth and 8

    Fourth and 8 Member

    Do turnovers include:

    change of possession by foul?

    change of possession whereby a defender grabs the ball, dribbles once in place or gets the ball batted out of his hands at the point of his steal, then loses it back to the opponent?
     
  2. fleishman

    fleishman Active Member

    yes, turnovers are any possession that does not end in a shot being taken or a trip to the line.
     
  3. Mr. Homer

    Mr. Homer Member

    The shortest thread ever. I'm calling it now
     
  4. HandsomeHarley

    HandsomeHarley Well-Known Member

    I don't count it if a player grabs the ball from the opposition but gives it back before he has control of the ball. That's just a loose ball.

    Once control is maintained, then it becomes a turnover.

    Definitely on the first scenario.
     
  5. Hank_Scorpio

    Hank_Scorpio Active Member

    In college, I used to help keep stats for the SID sometimes. That's pretty much what we did.

    Most of the times, we said the person stealing the ball had to cross the halfcourt line to maintain possession. There are exceptions of course, but that's a good rule to follow.
     
  6. If the shot clock resets, possession has been determined without the use of the midcourt rule, no?
     
  7. Batman

    Batman Well-Known Member

    What about a blocked shot? I always count it as a block, no shot taken, but no turnover either. Is that wrong?
     
  8. Hank_Scorpio

    Hank_Scorpio Active Member

    Correct, in that it's no turnover. But it is a shot taken.

    Look at it this way, if it hadn't been blocked, it would either have gone in the basket or missed. And since it's a shot, there would also have to be a rebound to balance out the boxscore.
     
  9. HandsomeHarley

    HandsomeHarley Well-Known Member

    Absolutely. And if the defender forces a jump ball with a block, and the defense has the possession arrow, it becomes a blocked shot, shot attempt, and defensive rebound.
     
  10. editorhoo

    editorhoo Member

    How could a blocked SHOT not be a shot? It is by definition.
     
  11. mike311gd

    mike311gd Active Member

    That's an easy one.
     
  12. Batman

    Batman Well-Known Member

    Because it didn't hit the rim. Same as an airball.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page