1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Baseball scoring question

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by KYSportsWriter, Jul 25, 2008.

  1. KYSportsWriter

    KYSportsWriter Well-Known Member

    PM'd this to a few people on here, but ...

    Guy steals second and the throw sails into the outfield. Guy gets up, tries to make it to 3rd, but is thrown out. Error? No error?
  2. doctorx

    doctorx Member

    No error.
  3. 2muchcoffeeman

    2muchcoffeeman Active Member


    E2 on the throw. 2-OF-5 for the putout at third.
  4. crimsonace

    crimsonace Active Member

    SB, PO 8-5. No error because no extra base was taken on the play.

    I think the C wouldn't get an assist because of the wild throw, but I might be wrong (in that case, it's SB, PO 2-8-5).

    Either that or ...
    No stolen base, E2 (wild throw allowed runner to take 2nd), PO 8-5. That doesn't make much sense, but if a good throw would have gunned the runner down, you can legitimately call an error.
  5. MileHigh

    MileHigh Moderator Staff Member

    SB, putout 8-5.
  6. SB, E2 (throw), 8-5 on the putout.
  7. BYH

    BYH Active Member

    Yeah but the guy never made it to third. So how can there be an error?

    You wouldn't charge the right fielder, for example, if he overran the ball on a routine single and then threw out the overeager runner trying to take second.
  8. I'm trying to figure it out, too.

    If there's a runner on 3B and the pitcher throws it to the backstop, but the catcher throws the runner out at home, there is no WP, right?

    That makes me think you take away the error in this case. Otherwise, if the pitcher still gets a WP, then the C in this case still gets an E2.
  9. bueller

    bueller Member

    Stolen base, no error.

    OBR 10:12 (d)
  10. BYH

    BYH Active Member

    Just proves what I've always said.

    Never listen to buckweaver when he starts talking about baseball. :D :D :D
  11. Leave it to the rule book to squash our discussions on these situations.

    Remember "Ask Hal, the Referee," from The Sporting News? I loved trying to answer those before reading what he had to say.
  12. Petrie

    Petrie Guest

    Bump...different question. I'm a little rusty.

    Just covered a game where home team wins, 10-8. Visiting SP gives up first eight runs, including runs that caused final lead change. RP enters with 8-3 deficit...that deficit eventually goes to 9-3 and 10-5. I gave the SP the loss; the school's SID gave it to the RP. Who's right?
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page