1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Baseball Scoring Question

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by CollegeJournalist, May 14, 2008.

  1. CollegeJournalist

    CollegeJournalist Active Member

    Runner on first, no outs. He attempts to steal second and a batted ground ball hits him in the foot. He's out. Had it not hit him, the second baseman was in position to make the play.

    I know the put out is credited to the second baseman, but is it scored as a base hit for the batter?
  2. Moderator1

    Moderator1 Moderator Staff Member

    No, but I don't think it is a fielder's choice, either.
  3. CollegeJournalist

    CollegeJournalist Active Member

    I don't think it's a base hit either. But the radio guy next to me swore it was. He even changed the official scorer's mind.
  4. Ace

    Ace Well-Known Member

    It should be an error on the damn baserunner.
  5. CollegeJournalist

    CollegeJournalist Active Member

    Agreed. He's a dumbass. But it's Low-A ball, where even a fly ball right at an outfielder leaves you wondering what the hell is going to happen.
  6. Moderator1

    Moderator1 Moderator Staff Member

    One of my staff just called a guy he said was the guru of scorekeeping.
    Base hit. And the closest fielder gets a putout.
  7. zebracoy

    zebracoy Guest

    Without a doubt a base hit.
  8. Rule is very clear. Put out goes to fielder closes to the runner and the batter gets a base hit unless the runner is hit by an infield fly, accoridng to rule 10:05 subpgh 5 of the offiicial baseball rules.
  9. HandsomeHarley

    HandsomeHarley Well-Known Member

    By rule, it goes down as a single, 4 unassisted on the putout.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page