1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Baseball scoring question

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by Smallpotatoes, Apr 11, 2007.

  1. Smallpotatoes

    Smallpotatoes Well-Known Member

    In a nine-inning game, the starting pitcher has to pitch five complete innings to be credited with a win.
    In a seven-inning game is it still five innings or is it four?
  2. spnited

    spnited Active Member

    In High School 7 inning games it's 4
  3. HandsomeHarley

    HandsomeHarley Well-Known Member

    'Tis four.

    And you only need to pitch two innings to get a save, instead of three (provided all the other save rules apply).

    And when computing ERA, it's the number of earned runs * 7 / IP, not 9.
  4. Football_Bat

    Football_Bat Well-Known Member

    Another question: In a five-inning run-rule game, does the winning pitcher only have to go three?
  5. HandsomeHarley

    HandsomeHarley Well-Known Member


    Basically, you use the same formula used in MLB: A starting pitcher basically needs to pitch two-thirds of the game. In a save situation, a reliever must meet all the criteria for two-thirds of the game.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page