1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Baseball Scoring Question: Save?

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by Central-KY-Kid, Jul 20, 2009.

  1. Pitcher enters last inning with 7-3 lead.

    Gives up one run.

    Game ends, 7-4 with tying run at the plate and winning run on deck.

    You CAN'T pitch yourself into a save, right?
  2. crimsonace

    crimsonace Active Member

    No save. (however, if he gives up the lead, it's also not a blown save).

    The game situation must meet the criteria for a save situation when the pitcher enters the game to be a save (3-run lead with 1+ inning to go, tying run at least in the on-deck circle, or pitch at least 3 innings "effectively").
    Now, here's a question, brought on by something Lou Piniella did a week ago (and extrapolating). I could see this happening in HS ...

    RHP comes into the game, last inning, game is 4-0. He allows three consecutive hits, and two runs score, so it's now 4-2 with a runner on base.

    Coach brings a new pitcher in for a lefty/lefty matchup, but doesn't want to take the original pitcher out, so he moves him to LF for one batter. New pitcher strikes out his man, then is replaced and the original pitcher comes back in and retires the last two men to finish the inning and the game.

    Save or no save? It was a non-save situation when he entered, but he left the mound to become a position player, and then he came back in a save situation.
  3. RickStain

    RickStain Well-Known Member

    The rule clearly says "enters the game," so I'm guessing no save.
  4. HandsomeHarley

    HandsomeHarley Well-Known Member

    No save.

    It doesn't meet the three rules of criteria.
  5. Matt1735

    Matt1735 Well-Known Member

    He's brought back in as a new pitcher. It should be a save.
  6. apeman33

    apeman33 Well-Known Member

    The original pitcher went to the OF with the lead and came back to the mound with his team still leading. He's eligible to be the winning pitcher (since he was the pitcher of record when he was moved) and the rule says you can't give the same pitcher the victory and the save.

    However, I do believe that if Pitcher A goes to a position with the lead, then any subsequent pitcher blows the lead, the team rallies and Pitcher A goes back on the mound in a save situation, then he can get the save.

    I covered a high school regional game this year where one team used two of its pitchers twice. The first guy had a horrible first inning, then moved to first base. The second guy was OK for a while, then was moved to the outfield after his team took the lead. Then a third guy came in to pitch the fifth. The first guy came back to pitch, had a decent sixth but started off crappy again in the seventh, so the second guy came back on.

    Pitcher two got the win because his team never lost the lead. But because he was the winning pitcher, he couldn't also get the save when he came back on in the seventh..
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page