1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Baseball Gamer

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by Xodus, Mar 29, 2008.

1. Xodus

Xodus Member

Hey, I'm a college writer and I was hoping I could get some feedback on a gamer I wrote earlier this week. I think it's a solid piece but I'm always looking for ways to improve. Any and all tips would be appreciated.

JACKSONVILLE – If you take a peek at UF's schedule, it says the Gators were on the road Wednesday night.

You would never have known it, as two-thirds of the spectators packed into John Sessions Stadium were clad in orange and blue, only to watch UF (18-5) give up a three-run lead and take a tough 8-5 loss to Jacksonville (14-8).

Despite playing what amounted to an extra home game, the Gators' pitching staff put together one of its shakiest performances of the season. Starter Stephen Locke lasted just three innings and combined for more walked and hit batters (four) than strikeouts (three). J.K. Lacoste — who pitched just 2/3 of an inning — walked two batters and allowed two earned runs. The usually solid Josh Edmondson lasted just two innings.

Sophomore Kyle Mullaney, who entered the season as the ace of UF's staff, threw 2/3 of an inning and allowed three runs, the second of which came on a balk. Things got so bad that Dustin Bamberg, who started the game at designated hitter, came in to pitch in the bottom of the seventh and was the best pitcher of the night for UF. The senior threw 1 2/3 innings and struck out three.