1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Athletes and criminal accusations

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by ben.miller, Apr 5, 2011.

1. ben.miller

ben.miller New Member

Hi all,

I am a graduate student in Mass Communication and a freelance journalist. For one of my classes this semester, I am doing a long-form journalism piece on how the media covers accusations of crimes, specifically rape, against athletes. I am interested in the topic from the viewpoint that a lot of these athletes are later exonerated or have the charges dropped and how the initial viewpoint may negatively sculpt the athlete’s reputation in the public.

I would like to talk to some reporters and editors about how they have covered such situations in the past, and also to find out how the sports media is doing as a whole on covering difficult issues such as these. My question to the board is if there is anyone who would be willing to contribute their thoughts and experiences to my piece or if anyone might be able to direct to someone else who would be willing.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

2. Mark2010

Mark2010 Active Member

As both a reporter and desk editor, I am always VERY cautious with this stuff. There are fewer things that can get one in hot water faster than inaccuracies when it comes to criminal offenses. A few things to remember:

1) ANYONE can accuse anyone of anything. Doesn't mean that it is true.

2) Just because someone is arrested by police, does NOT mean they have been charged with a crime. Charging someone with an offense is the responsibility of the district attorney.