1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Arguing about sports

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by mustangj17, Aug 11, 2009.

1. mustangj17

mustangj17 Active Member

It seems like my friends and relatives always want to argue about sports. For the most part, they are as ignorant as the folks on message boards.

This is probably why there are very few people in the world I will talk sports with.

I really just can't stand some of the dumb shit my friends say. Does anyone else have this same problem?

Most recently the topics that have gotten me steamed involve college football. I am a big Michigan fan. But I graduated from Michigan State. In a normal week, I get about 10-15 texts, e-mails. voice mails about how much Michigan sucks, how bad Rich Rod is, how Justin Feagin is a coke dealer and jokes about Toledo. When Michigan lost to Appalachian State I got 82 text messages, 82!

I don't really respond. I don't care to. I don't care about who other teams are recruiting or what there players are doing. Still, I get bombarded with messages about every recruit MSU has, how Michigan playing UConn is bad for the program and everything in between. It drives me nuts and I need to vent. I think I'm going to start posting some of these messages below to show everyone how irrational some of these things are.

So does anyone else hate arguing sports, or hate their dumb friends inability to discuss things without bashing other teams?

Okay, rant over.

2. JackReacher

JackReacher Well-Known Member

Sounds like you have very annoying friends.

3. Songbird

Songbird Well-Known Member