1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

APSE story on Web content

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Pringle, Oct 16, 2006.

1. Pringle

Pringle Active Member

I am particularly surprised at how many of these SEs say that their writers are resisting the Internet, even today. The revolution is over, guys. Print lost. It still has its place, of course, as it did after radio and television came aboard.

Maybe I'm naive, but as a writer, my goal is to be read by the most amount of people, no matter what the medium:

http://apse.dallasnews.com/2006/oct2006/101506hoppes.html

2. Michael_ Gee

Michael_ Gee Well-Known Member

Forget the business aspects for a second. Why would writers complain about being given more space, cyber- or otherwise?

3. Pringle

Pringle Active Member

My only guess is that writers just like to complain about everything.

When I mention "Web" at my shop, even to my editors, you can just see their face wrinkle like they just took a tequila shot.

4. Riddick

Riddick Active Member

Well, reading the APSE story, I don't think they're resisting the web, they just don't like writing for the web over and over again, with the final draft appearing in print.

5. Montezuma's Revenge

Montezuma's Revenge Active Member

Maybe it has something to do with with having 500,000 daily readers in print.

And then having to all this extra work -- no extra pay, just extra hours -- so that the webmasters can jack off because your blog got 15,000 hits.

6. Pringle

Pringle Active Member