1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

AP Stylebook

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Matt L., Mar 4, 2008.

1. Matt L.

Matt L. Member

Hey, I'm new to this journalism thing, and I was told to buy an AP Stylebook. I ordered one online, but I don't see why I would need this. Can someone please tell me what you use the Stylebook for? Thanks.

2. sportschick

sportschick Active Member

Why wouldn't you need one? To my knowledge no one has yet come out of the womb with perfect knowledge of the stylebook.

3. Jeremy Goodwin

Jeremy Goodwin Active Member

It's a universal style for newspapers and news organizations, like MLA or other English style guides for research papers. It allows different papers to do things the same way, also it allows all AP wire copy to have the same abbreviations and style. A few examples of things you'll use it for are state abbreviations, which are different than postal ones, dateline cities, and the difference between words such as effect/affect.

4. mustangj17

mustangj17 Active Member

It is the best resource you will ever have as a journalist.

5. Matt L.

Matt L. Member

Well, I'm not even a journalist yet, but I was signing up for an internship in my local newspaper, told the guys here about it, and then was told to buy an AP Stylebook.

6. Matt L.

Matt L. Member

Well, I already bought one, but I don't know how to use it really. That's what I'm asking.

7. Angola!

Angola! Guest

Just read it and memorize what's in it.

8. Jeremy Goodwin