1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Anyone flown Allegiant before?

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by dixiehack, Jan 24, 2013.

1. dixiehack

dixiehack Well-Known Member

My wife, kids and parents are going to St. Pete in March. None are looking forward to the drive (11 hours plus stops with a baby in tow) but money is tight. My brother-in-laws family has flown Allegiant for Disney trips before and been good with it, but I have no first-hand knowledge. I get that they make up for the teaser fares by charging you for every bag, change fees and any other extras, but what am I missing? And is it worth it to book a hotel and rental from them as well, or do that separate?

2. KJIM

KJIM Well-Known Member

I'm housesitting for some folks who took the airline to Arizona somewhere. They swear by it and took their dog with them.

Their flight out was postponed over 24 hours because of weather, though. There is only one flight out of here every few days, but when the storm hit, they did reschedule it instead of just canceling everything.

One of the guys I work with is flying to Arizona next month. He's done no bitching about any extras, so I'll take that as a a positive.

3. trifectarich

trifectarich Well-Known Member

Yep, you'll pay for everything, even to choose a seat when you make your reservation. Expect the worst and if that doesn't materialize, you're ahead of the game. My wife flew RT between Florida and Indiana for something ridiculous, like $45 each way, so certainly it's a strong consideration if the bottom line is most important.

4. Grover

Grover New Member