1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Any Alt-Country fans out there?

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by spikechiquet, Sep 25, 2010.

1. spikechiquet

spikechiquet Well-Known Member

Outlaw Country, Torch & Twang, Americana, Alt-Country...whatever you like to call it, any fans?

Wilco, Uncle Tupelo, Vigilantes of Love, Hank III, Billy Bragg, The Jayhawks, Old 97s, Son Volt, Whiskeytown...anyone?

My buddy is a huge fan and I am just getting into the music myself...so I am learning the genre as quickly as possible.

A new fave, if you haven't checked him out: The Tallest Man on Earth. Good stuff.

2. ADodgen

ADodgen Member

I've seen the Old 97s, and really like Wilco, though I don't really consider Wilco alt-country so much.

3. ADodgen

ADodgen Member

I realize that statement sounds sort of stupid, since Wilco basically evolved out of Uncle Tupelo, which I do classify as alt-country. I still don't put the current/recent Wilco stuff in the same category.

4. spikechiquet

True, but I also like alt-country inspired rock as well, so I threw them in there.

5. ADodgen

ADodgen Member

Fair enough.

I'd throw in Drive-by Truckers and Lucero if you're looking for more good music. And the Gourds.

6. YGBFKM

YGBFKM Guest

The Truckers are awesome. They've lost a little of their fastball lately, but you won't find many better albums than Decoration Day and Dirty South. Also, check out Jason Isbell, former guitarist for DBT, who has put out two solo albums in the last couple years (Sirens of the Ditch and a self-titled album).